A Tea Chest designed by Jaanhvi Hinduja, featuring “Classics” collection

What is it about the old world that calls out to us in the 21st century? Old books, cameras, cassettes, bikes and cars – I so love them! I think the old world  was all about sophistication and glamour thrown in a good measure. Well! If you are somewhat a  vintage lover like me – Our new decoupage paper pack, ‘ Classics’  is right for you. With vintage elements thrown in the backdrop of old book pages, classic scripts and sober colour palette, just fill my mind with possibilities of creating some wonderful projects for my home 🙂
I will be sharing some of the projects that I make here for all of you in the days ahead. The first being a vintage tea chest that I’ve done with one of my favourite print from this collection.
Tea is intended to be savoured and tea time allows you to slow down and take a deep breath even when life is at its craziest. For those few comforting moments of your mornings, a beautiful chest to store your favourite flavours is an icing on the cake – isn’t it?
Let’s begin with a brief process to making one for your table –
I took a wooden tea chest, sanded and cleaned it nicely and painted the entire surface inside and out with an off-white chalk paint. Chalk paints have come to become a boon for decoupage lovers as it does away the need to prime the surface and gives a smooth finish. Next, I used masking tape to create stripes on the lower outer sides of the box and the inner lid. Then, painted the unmasked areas with blue paint (matched to the butterfly of the print). After removing the tape, I used a border stencil with texture paste to create an ornate border. When the border dried I painted it with watered down blue paint so that the stripes behind do not show strikingly. Next I decoupaged the outer lid with the butterfly print and did some random vintage script stamping.
I decoupaged a coaster with the remaining bit of paper. Applied varnish on the entire box. Next came the fun part to create a beautiful vintage English look on the box. I achieved this with my favourite product – antiquing wax. Have a look at the pictures how antiquing makes the border stand out and gives a warm vintage look to it. Finally, I pasted the coaster in the inside lid and adorned it with jute trims.
Hope you like the project! I’ll be more than glad to answer any queries that you may have in case you wish to make one for yourself.
I’ll share more projects with the new releases soon, and would love to hear what interests you and design my projects accordingly.
Till then, enjoy your tea:)
Love,
Jaanhvi

Leave a comment