An Old Typewriter, Upcycled by Roshni Gupta with Decoupage Specialty Papers

Hello everyone ,

Roshni here with an awesome project to share with you all. When I think of decoupage I look for the old and ignored objects lying at my home to give them a new life completely. So I had this typewriter at home, that I planned to decoupage and turn it into a beautiful piece of art.

For this project I have used Bob n Betty’s “Vintage Wheels” decoupage specialty papers, and they have gone sooo well with the theme. These papers are quite easy to work with as they are so thin yet sturdy that makes it easy to fold them in almost any shape, hence the risk of damaging your project is almost zero…..they are a must buy for newbies.

For my project, I first decided which paper I wanted to use on which part of the typewriter and then I traced that part and cut the paper accordingly. Once the cutting was done I simply started applying mod podge and sticking the paper alongside. Once the glue dried, I filed the edges using sand paper and applied a coat of vanish over it.

rgtw01

rgtw02

rgtw03

There comes the most interesting stage….I embellished it with flowers , micro beads, mica flakes etc. .. and my completely new yet vintage typewriter was ready … it not only looks good but is completely functional too 🙂

rgtw06

rgtw07

rgtw08

rgtw05

rgtw04

rgtw09

Though it was difficult to fit the typewriter in the frame I have tried my best and have filmed this video showing the transformation. I hope you all like it….

Love
Roshni

 

One thought on “An Old Typewriter, Upcycled by Roshni Gupta with Decoupage Specialty Papers

Leave a Reply

