Accordion Pocket Album made with Coral Cluster Paper Collection, by Niharika Gupta

Hi Creatives,

Hope you all are doing good, and gearing n grooming up yourselves for the upcoming festivals.. A lot of things were keeping me occupied these days, so after a little break, I am here with my new project and and and, my first ever pictorial.. yes, you read it right.. its a pictorial for you on my “Accordion Pocket Album” using the Coral Cluster paper pack by Bob n Betty.

The day I saw these papers, I just fell in love with them. The papers are just flattering. This collection has a mix of beautiful shades of pink and grey, and my favorite poppy flowers.

What I love about all the papers from Bob n Betty is each paper pack is so complete in itself, that u don’t have to use many embellishments. They look amazing on their own… 🙂

So without further delay, lets start with the details on the making of this little Accordion Pocket Album. I will be giving the procedure in three steps, first we will create the pockets, then the cover and then comes tags.

First Step: Envelope Shaped Pockets
1. I took a black cardstock measuring 11.5″ X 5.5″, scored the 11.5″ side at 3″ and 8.5″ & 5.5″ side at 4.5″. Next, I discarded the corner rectangles.

ngta

  1. I like to round off my corners for a better finish using a corner punch. Also used my 1″ circle die to cut a half circle on the open edge of the pocket & adhered the folded sides along the doted lines (refer Pic B). My envelope shaped pockets are done.

ngtb

  1. I m using 8 pockets in this album, you can make more as per your requirements.
    Now, I had to paste pattern papers on the sides of the pockets. For this, I used 16 pieces of 3 different pattern papers cut into 4.5″X2″ and scored them in half.

ngtc

4. Folded them (not putting much pressure) and pasted them on the sides of my pockets. Using a little wet glue I pasted the pockets together and kept it aside for drying.

ngtd

Second Step: Cover

  1. I used 1mm chipboard cut into the following sizes:

BACK : 6″ X6″
TOP COVER: 4 1/4″ X6″
BOTTOM COVER: 3 3/4″ X 6″
MIDDLE PIECES (2 nos): 1.5″ X 6″

  1. I pasted them on slightly bigger black cardstock and covered the sides to make the cover.  Using different pattern papers I covered all the faces on my cover.

ngte

  1. Now, I attached my accordion shaped pocket structure to the cover simply by pasting the first pocket on the bottom cover first, n then the last pocket on the back of the cover. It was now time to make the tags to insert in the pockets.

ngtf

Third Step: Tags

  1. For the tags I cut my black cardstock in 5″X 5.5″ and used my bracket die on one of the edges. Using the same die on slightly smaller pattern papers, I got my 8 pieces ready to be pasted on the tags.

ngtg

Time to embellish the album.. 🙂
I used a C-lock for the closure, few fussy cut flowers from one of the pattern papers, Poppy flower chipboard cutouts from Dusty attics water-colored them (just loved loved loved the way they looked n matched to the papers), some stones, sentiments, few of my dies, and some metal charms to embellish my little album.

ngth

Here are the pictures of the final product.

ngti

ngtj

ngtk

ngtl

ngtm

ngtn

I hope you liked it and found it inspiring. Do share if you follow this tutorial to create a similar Accordion Pocket Album.
Best wishes..
Love, Niharika.

2 thoughts on “Accordion Pocket Album made with Coral Cluster Paper Collection, by Niharika Gupta

Leave a Reply

