A Mixed Media Shadow Box, adorned with Summer Charm Paper Collection

Hello Folks

A simple white cardstock can be a canvas to an artist’s imagination. Creativity is an art allowing you to harness thoughts and ideas and come up with something extraordinary. The uniqueness in creativity comes when you can visualize an unusual thing in a usual object and this gave me the idea for my next DT project. I used a white cardstock to make my mixed media frame. Nothing could have been a better choice than the beautiful assortment of pattern papers from Bob n Betty, “Summer Charm”. The collection consists of soft pastel backgrounds with grunge effects. I simply loved the papers as they do not possess over-powering elements and did complete justice to my mixed media project.

For the mixed media project, I wanted to work on a reverse canvas but did not have it in my stash. However, my excitement made me imitate the reverse canvas effect with a white cardstock. So, I created a shadow box of 6×4 inches and started adorning it with the papers from Summer Charm collection.

AA01

I glued different papers from this collection on the entire white area and distressed the edges.

AA02

Subsequently I started layering paper pieces inside the box, distressed from the edges. Layering gives the finest volume to almost any project. Applied heavy white gesso with the help of a stencil, to give textures to sides of the box and adhered my favorite honeycomb chipboard cutout.

AA03

Then comes the most exciting part….embellishments, I glued down some dyed cheese cloth at the corner, right underneath the white flower and aged leaves. And you can see a vintage keyhole metal charm at the left along with a cute little bird nest.

AA04

This time I used papers from Summer Charm Collection only to make the flowers and leaves using various dies. And you can see the outcome; they have turned out so gorgeous.

AA05

And here is the final look….

AA05

Hope you enjoyed making of the project. Thanks so much for stopping by, your comments and feedback are always appreciated and make my day!

Love
Ayushi

Leave a Reply

