Embroidery Hoops, altered with “Anemone” Paper Collection

“Without playing with fantasies, no creative work has ever yet come to birth”. Innovative people not only build up castles in the air but are also blessed with fortitude to turn things into reality. There are so many household items that go into junk, how about using it for decorating your home? On the same ground, one thing that kept hovering on my mind is the embroidery hoops. How about giving it an innovative touch?? A bit of brainstorming and I finally came up with an idea of converting the embroidery hoops into a decorative piece or may be into a photo frame. While looking out from where to start, I hopped over to my DT kit this month in which I received the gorgeous pattern paper collection from Bob n Betty, ANEMONE…woven in the fascinating shades of blue.

So let’s get started with the making of this wonderful project.

Firstly I applied gesso on the embroidery hoops and made use of 2 sheets from Anemone stack to sketch out the hoops. Cut and pasted them behind the hoops.

Once this was dry, I placed both the hoops in desired style and secured them in place using fevibond.

The same paper stack was used to make the photomats. I was totally enthralled by the lace design on the paper and used tacky tape to secure them.

01

 

Anemone stack has some gorgeous flower patterns that I fussy cut and place them in the required shape.

02

 

Then I added laces and flowers to make some clusters and added resin and metal embellishments from my stash.

04

 

05

 

To give it a finishing touch, I gave a coat of gesso using a dry brush and also added few water drops down the gesso.

Perhaps the altered embroidery hoops can be used as a decorative piece or a photo frame capturing those special moments of life.

03

This collection has 8 designs, available in 6″x6″ and 12″x12″ inches. you may follow the link to check out these gorgeous papers at http://www.shopbobnbetty.in/browse/anemone

I was mesmerized with the outcome. Hope you too like enjoyed the complete process.

Happy summers

Dr MV Pratyusha

Leave a Reply

