Altered Calendar by Exotic Birds Collection

Hello there..!
The New Year has finally arrived, bringing in new hopes, new aspirations and new beginning. It brings about many changes, which probably means dumping the old and worn out calendars into the waste bin. But rather than discarding them, a creative touch could be given for their facelift.

01

When I received the gorgeous “Exotic Birds” pattern papers in my first DT kit, I decided to upcycle an old calendar and make a desktop calendar for 2016. Even though these papers looked gorgeous online, they are much prettier in real sense. They are A4 size, thick, cardstock sheets with a beautiful look and feel.
Here is a glimpse of the way I preceded for the same.

02

The calendar was really fun and easy to put together. I started off with an old calendar, some photos of my daughter, some lace, printouts of a free 2016 calendar and of course last but not the least the gorgeous “Exotic Birds” pattern papers. I began by opening up the spiral binding of the calendar just enough to slide out the pages. I took out the pages, followed by distressing the edges with Vintage Photo distress ink. I also distressed the edges of the month printouts.

03

I have fussy cut the birds from the pattern paper and mixed and matched the remaining paper to create the background layer for the calendar pages. After pasting the pictures on the pages I added some co-coordinating lace. I put the pages back into the calendar and closed the binding. I added the month printouts and pictures of daughter onto the pages and embellished it with the fussy cut birds and some flowers.

04

I did not overdo the embellishments as I wanted the pretty birds to be stars of the projects and also because too many 3D embellishments would make it difficult for the calendar to close and misbalance it.
Here’s a closer look at those gorgeous birds.

05

And some pages with my daughter’s pictures.

06

07

Crafting can change an old and left out product into something new and beautiful. Hope you enjoyed the post, and are inspired to create something of your own. Thank you so much for your time!

Juhi Khanna

4 thoughts on “Altered Calendar by Exotic Birds Collection

Leave a Reply

